References

Database

           A database is a collection of information.

     A to Z Maps

     A to Z The USA

     A to Z World Culture

          A to Z World Culture is the most comprehensive country cultural database on the market today. Featuring in-depth information on 175 countries, A to Z World Culture will give you a level of insight into each country that cannot be found anywhere else. Categories include, but are not limited to: Climate, Culture, Food & Recipes, Language Video Dictionary, Royalty-free Maps, National Symbols, Business Culture, Music, and Education.

     A to Z World Travel 

     Evolve

           This is our card catalog database.

     Inspire

           This is the state database that has several databases within different categories.  The subjects are biographies, business, careers, education, government and military, health & medicine, literature, news and history, STEAM, Student Search K – 6, Student Search K – 12, World Languages which included Rosetta Stone Level 1.

     Overdrive

           This is an online database to download books, audio books, and movies.  Our library subscribes to this database which includes

 

Website

 

           A website is produced by organizations, the government, schools, businesses, or individuals.  A web address that ends in “.gov,” “.org,” or “.edu” is considered to be a reliable source.  If the address ends in “.com” the consumer needs to check the information for accuracy.  This site can be produced by anyone.  Usually sites that have been established by the government, organizations, or schools do not have advertising, which makes the sites easier to navigate.

 

Ready Reference Sites

American Fact Finder: http://factfinder2.census.gov

Any Day: http://www.scopesys.com/anyday/

Any Who: http://www.anywho.com/whitepages

http://www.bartleby.com

Emily Post’s Etiquette: http:www.emilypost.com

http://www.encyclopedia.com

 

Dictionaries

acronymfinder.com

www.dictionary.com

http:www.Dictionary.references.com

http://onelook.com

 

Business & Geography Sources

Big Charts http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com

Business Dictionary http://www.businessdictionary.com

U.S. Census bureau Map Collection http://census.gov/geo/www/maps

USA. gov http://www.usa.gov

 

Science, Technology, & Health Sources

Medline http://www.nim..nih.gov

Health Finder http://www.healthfinder.gov

National Center for Health Statistics http://cdc.gov/nchs

Web MD http://www.webmd.com

 

Biography, Careers, & News

http://www.biography.com

Biographical Dictionary http://www.s9.com

Explore Careers http://www.jamyway.org

Occupational Outlook Handbook  www.bls.gov/ooh/

 

Government and Legal Sources

Budget notices for Indiana government entities http://www.budgetnotices.in.gov

FedStats https://fedstats.sites.usa.gov/

 

 

 

Comments are closed.